Film Series

Thank You for Smoking: Screening and Conversation

October 20, 2006

Aaron Eckhart stars in this adaptation of Christopher Buckley’s witty, hilarious novel about a top spin agent who attempts to balance the difficulties of defending Big Tobacco with being a good role-model for his twelve-year-old son.

Bestselling novelist, Chris Buckley, joined FOLCS for a screening and discussion of Thank You for Smoking.

Watch more like Thank You for Smoking: Screening and Conversation here.

See more from FOLCS here.

Christopher Buckley

Christopher Buckley was born in New York City in 1952 and graduated cum laude from Yale University in 1976. He shipped out in the Merchant Marine and at age 24 became managing editor of Esquire magazine. At age 29, he became chief speechwriter to the Vice President of the United States, George H.W. Bush. In 1989 Buckley became the founder and editor-in-chief of Forbes FYI magazine, where he is currently editor at large.

He is the author of thirteen books, most of them national bestsellers. They have been translated into sixteen foreign languages, including Russian, Korean, and Indonesian. They include: Boomsday, The White House Mess, Wet Work, Thank You For Smoking, God Is My Broker, Little Green Men, No Way To Treat a First Lady, and Florence of Arabia. Thank You For Smoking has been made into a major motion picture starring Aaron Eckhart, Robert Duvall, William Macy, Rob Lowe, Adam Brody, and Katie Holmes. His novel Little Green Men is being made into a movie starring John Malkovich and will be directed by Whit Stillman. GreeneStreet Films, teamed with Das Films, has optioned Boomsday, with Ron Bass on board to write the script.

Mr. Buckley has contributed over 60 comic essays to The New Yorker magazine. His journalism, satire, and criticism has been widely published––in The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, New Republic, Washington Monthly, Vanity Fair, Vogue, Esquire, and other publications. He is the recipient of the 2002 Washington Irving Medal for Literary Excellence. In 2004 he was awarded the Thurber Prize for American Humor.